McHale, McDonald Part of Inaugural MN High School Basketball Hall of Fame Class

Hibbing native Kevin McHale and former Chisholm, Barnum and McGregor basketball coach Bob McDonald are part of the 14-inductee class.

The Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame, in conjunction with the Minnesota Timberwolves and Minnesota Lynx, will have a display in the skyway of the recently renovated Target Center to honor the recipients.

The goal of the Hall of Fame is to celebrate the rich history of high school basketball from around the state by recognizing the most successful players, teams, coaches and other contributors.

The inductees will be honored Monday, March 26th with a reception at The Courts at Mayo Clinic Center at the second floor Experience Center from 4-6 p.m.

The class includes: Randy Breuer of Lake City; Khalid El-Amin of Minneapolis North; Ron Johnson of New Prague; Janet Karvonen-Montgomery of New York Mills; Kevin McHale of Hibbing; Jim McIntyre of Minneapolis Patrick Henry; Mark Olberding of Melrose; Lindsay Whalen of Hutchinson; Chisholm coach Bob McDonald; Rochester Lourdes coach Myron Glass; Minneapolis North and DeLaSalle coach Faith Johnson Patterson; Dorothy McIntyre of Edina; the Edgerton boys’ basketball team of 1960, and the Grand Meadow girls’ basketball teams from 1929-39.

The Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame committee was established in 2011. There are currently 11 members on the committee. Anyone can nominate a player, coach, contributor or team to the Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame committee. Nominations can be made on the Hall of Fame website at

(Contributions from Ron Haggstrom of the Minnesota High School Basketball Hall of Fame Committee.)

Source Article